Peach & Rosemary Cornmeal Cake

IMG_4633

I have two confessions. One, I’ve been eating these Beet Burgers for at least one meal a day for the last five days. Mostly because I’m too stubborn to downsize a recipe and/or freeze leftovers in W’s absence. Oh, and they’re really good.

Two, growing up, I preferred the green, hard, unripe peaches and nectarines from the grocery store. Though I grew up quite close to orchard country, I didn’t like the squishy texture of a ripe peach. Never mind that there was no flavor. It was crisp. Like an apple. And I’ve always loved apples.

IMG_4600

All of that has changed. To the second confession, I mean. I still have leftovers. I went to the farmers market yesterday and bought peaches from my favorite orchard. In a couple weeks, they will begin bringing in the first apples in all their glory. But right about now, Willamette Valley peaches are in their prime. Because I tasted each variety before purchasing, I finally chose the giant Red Globes that were perfectly sweet and ripe. Normally, I would simply slice them up one by one and eat, slowly, letting the juice drip. Drop. Onto the counter, all over my blouse, syrupy fingers infecting everything they touch. With the most perfectly ripe fruit, I wouldn’t usually want to mask its style by fussing. But I’ve been in need of a cake; something slightly savory with texture and herbs.

IMG_4582

This cake delivers. Choose the ripest, choicest peaches you can find-Those flavors will shine through. I’ve adapted my recipe slightly so my cake is both gluten- and dairy-free. If you do not have a food scale, the gluten free flours total about 3/4 of a cup. If you have no dietary concerns, just sub in 3/4 cup all-purpose flour for the gluten free, and use regular milk instead of almond. I beg you, get out there (or into the kitchen) already and enjoy summer’s bounty of peaches while they last!

IMG_4619

Peach & Rosemary Cornmeal Cake, adapted from Bella Eats
Updated: 8/28/22
1 Tbs. ground flax seeds
2 Tbs. warm water
50 grams sorghum flour
20 grams arrowroot flour
15 grams / 2 Tbs. almond meal
120 grams  /  1 cup cornmeal
1/2 tsp. minced fresh rosemary
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
2 large eggs
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup non-dairy yogurt
2/3 cup plain unsweetened non-dairy milk
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup sugar
1 ripe peach, sliced thin
drizzle of honey, to finish
  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Oil and flour an 8- or 9-inch springform pan (or a cake pan).
  • In a small bowl, stir together the ground flax and 2 Tbs. warm water. Set aside.
  • In a large bowl, mix the flours, cornmeal, baking powder, salt and rosemary. Set aside.
  • In a large measuring bowl, stir together the eggs, oil, yogurt, milk, honey, sugar, and flax mixture.  Whisk well until frothy.
  • Pour the liquids into dry ingredients and stir until smooth and combined. Pour the batter into cake pan.
  • Arrange the sliced peach onto top of batter, beginning in the middle and working outwards.
  • Bake for approximately 30-35 minutes until toothpick comes out clean. Cool before serving.
  • When serving, drizzle a little honey over the top to finish.
 

Leave a comment